song against sex


Day 25: The LGBT slur you hate most or if you’ve taken back a slur and used it as a definition, ie queer or fag

Well, I use “queer” in a positive way when speaking inclusively of the entire non-heterosexual community. LGBT is a nice start, but what about pan-, demi-, and asexuals? What about genderqueer people who can’t identify with any of those labels? What about all the circumstances I can’t even think of at the moment? There’s such a huge variety of people represented in this catch-all label, I don’t think initials completely work unless you’re prepared to write out the entire alphabet every time you bring the subject up.

“Fag” and “homo” offend me to no end, though. I don’t usually launch into tirades about it though..I prefer to reject peoples’ attempts at slurs outright. Anytime someone uses any of these words in a derogatory way when conversing with me [e.g. “Ummm, okay, Adam Lambert is a FAG. I am NOT a fag. Therefore, we are not going to listen to Adam Lambert” <there’s logic for you!] I gush like they’ve just dished out the biggest compliment [e.g. “I knoooow, isn’t he fabulous? He’s got better eye makeup than any girl I’ve ever seen!”] and watch them dissolve into confusion. Kinda fun, actually.

Oh, and with regards to asexuality, I wouldn’t go so far as to call it a slur, but when people call you “broken,” it makes you want to punch them in the face.

You can read the full challenge here on Fuck Yeah LGBT. :)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

